IPL 2018: List of All Eight Teams Captains & Their IPL History

The 2018 IPL auctions are completed and the teams have their squad in place. Excitement is slowly building up as both Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are returning after a two-year suspension. Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants have been axed. So, once again there are eight teams in the IPL. Here are the list of the eight teams and their captains.  Chennai Super Kings Chennai Super Kings fans have something to celebrate about. The team is back after its two-year hiatus under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. It is one of the most successful teams in the IPL having won two tournaments back to back in 2010 and 2011. Delhi Daredevils The Delhi Daredevils are one of the founding franchises of the IPL, but it has never won the tournament. Gautam Gambhir is back as the captain, Daredevil fans will be hoping that this year the team performs well. ings XI Punjab Another founding member that has never won the IPL. In fact, King XI is considered an underachiever as the team usually has the talent, but has never performed up to its potential. This year, King XI Punjab has picked a new captain in Ravichandran Ashwin and hopes to perform well. Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata Knight Riders have the celebrity quotient, thanks to the owners Shahrukh Khan and Juhi Chawla. The team has a massive fan following across India and the world, and has justified the belief of its fans by winning the IPL in 2012 and 2014. This year, the captain is Dinesh Karthik and all eyes will be on him to lead the team to the playoffs and then to the finals. Mumbai Indians With Sachin Tendulkar retired, the captaincy has fallen on Rohit Sharma. Mumbai Indians are the most successful team of the IPL, having won the tournament three times in 2013, 2015 and 2017. Sharma will be expected to help the team win back to back tournaments. Rajasthan Royals After winning the inaugural IPL in 2008 under Shane Warne’s captaincy, Rajasthan Royals have not been able to perform up to expectations. This year, Shane Warne is the coach, but Aussie Captain Steve Smith is leading the charge. Royal Challengers Bangalore It would not be wrong to say that Royal Challengers are perennial underachievers. So, a lot is depending on its captain, Virat Kohli, to ensure that the team not only makes it to the playoffs and finals, but also hauls the cup home. Sunrisers Hyderabad Sunrisers Hyderabad have already carved a niche for themselves by winning the IPL in 2016. However, the following year, the team was unable to retain the coveted title. This year, David Warner, the current Aussie vice captain, has the mantle as the captain and is expected to lead the team at least to the playoffs.

Read more

IPL Auction 2018: Here’s Sunrisers Hyderabad Player List

Sunrisers Hyderabad made their IPL debut four seasons ago. However, in this short span of time, they have managed to impress their fans, especially by winning the 2016 title. In 2017, they made it to the playoffs, but could not sustain their momentum. Now, the team and fans are looking to repeat their 2016 performance. Retained Players The Sunrisers retained two of their star players – David Warner and Bhuveshwar Kumar. It is expected that David Warner will open for the team and he can be a dangerous opener. Warner has the ability to hit the ball outside the stadium with total disregard for the bowlers. This will give the Sunrisers the start they anticipate in each game. Bhuvie is a strike bowler and has many tricks in his arsenal. You can expect him to notch up many wickets during the course of the tournament. In fact, Bhuveshwar has the ability to win the purple cap. Other Players During the January IPL auction, the Sunrisers bid sensibly and managed to get a great mix of batting and bowling. This makes the team quite competitive. They snared the likes of Yusuf Pathan, Kane Williamson and Shikhar Dhawan. So their top order batting is bound to be explosive, scoring quick runs in the initial overs. The team has ample batting talent with Shakib Al-Hasan and Carlos Brathwaite who can easily score during  the dying few overs. While their batting is sorted out and bowling is decent, besides Bhuvie, the side does not have a star bowler. Here is the list of the Sunrisers squad for the 2018 IPL: David Warner Bhuveshwar Kumar Shakib Al-Hasan Kane Williamson Shikhar Dhawan Manish Pandey Yusuf Pathan Carlos Brathwaite Rashid Khan Ricky Bhui Wriddhiman Saha

Read more

Pin It on Pinterest